07/15 - Strikkly Vikkly “Volume 1"– LP – Brainlab Groove 2014

Victor Rice (a.k.a. Vikkly) has a dub style distinct from that of early dub pioneers such as King Tubby and Augustus Pablo. While he employs many of the standard delay, echo, and reverb effects, he works with much faster-paced rhythms, often recorded in a straight ska style, rather than the traditional roots reggae rhythms found in Jamaican dub.

In 2002, Rice moved to Sao Paulo, Brazil, where he has continued to produce recordings for various styles of musicians. In addition to playing his own compositions the Victor Rice Octet, he has also taken his dubbing skills to the stage, performing with an analog reel-to-reel tape machine and live effects, under the name Strikkly Vikkly Dubsystem.
This LP marks Strikkly Vikkly’s full-length debut, 15 years after the release of the self-titled single on the Version City Dub Clash compilation (Stubborn Records 1999).

Victor Rice (a.k.a. Vikkly) brings 14 tracks ranging from downtempo drops to insistent steppers, all shrouded in the Tape-Saturated Timbres, the Shimmering Echoes, the Polyrhythmic Delays and the Rude Reverb Reports that fans have come to expect from this techno-throwback. All 14 dubs are performed live on the mixing desk (in at most five takes).

All instrumental arrangements are live improvisa- tions, choices made in real time. What you get on this record are the favorites from each session.

This release has collaborations with : Cedric Brooks (JA) & Kevin Batchelor (US), Uzimon (US), King Cobrizo (AR), B Negão (BR), Pitshú (AN), Ticklah (US), Brother Culture (UK), Mr T Bone (IT), Tommy Tornado (NL) Chris Murray (CA), and the Japonicans (JP).

A Must to all Serious Dub Addicts on a beautiful White Pressing LP !

A1 Dee Gee
A2 Major Vikkly
A3 Bruce Leroy
A4 Bubble Tea
A5 Jah Jah
A6 Sintoniza La
A7 Wakka
B1 Strikk Nein
B2 Four-Hand Dub
B3 Minister Of Propaganda
B4 Party Line
B5 Bee Bee
B6 Pieces
B7 Libertade