2016/12/22 - Keith Hudson - Pick A Dub - (Expanded Edition) - 17 North Parade / VP Records

(apenas em inglês)
Keith Hudson's 'Pick A Dub' is often referred to as one of the best dub albums of all time, but we'll leave that judgement to all Reggae Fans Worldwide.
The album, which was first released on Hudson's own Mamba label back in 1974, was already reissued a first time by Blood and Fire in 1994, but 17 North Parade now presents this Deluxe Edition featuring in addition to the original 12 dubs, 8 vocal cuts over the same riddims (even including two never before released tracks: 'Be Still', the vocal counterpart to 'Don't Move', and the soulful closing track 'Still Water', a cover version of the eponymous hit by soul legends The Four Tops and the vocal counterpart to 'Depth Charge').
Among the riddims on 'Pick A Dub' two Abysinnians classics, Satta (here spelled 'Satia') and Declaration Of Rights ('Black Right') and also a version of S 90 Skank (opener and title track 'Pick A Dub' and 'Fat Baby', the version by Augustus Pablo).
That being said, our attention was especially drawn to 'Michael Talbot Affair', a dub version of the melody to The Animals' 'House Of The Rising Sun', and, as 'Addis Ababa (Place In Africa)', on this deluxe edition also featured in a vocal version by Delroy Wilson.
"Pick A Dub" is already a classic in its own right, but with this bonus tracks, laaaaaaaaddddddd !

1. Pick-A-Dub
2. Black Heart
3. Michael Talbot Affair
4. Don't Move
5. Blood Brother
6. Dreader Than
7. In The Rain
8. Part 1-2 Dubwise
9. Black Right
10. Satia
11. I'm All Right
12. Depth Charge
13. Fight On Fight On
14. Fat Baby (Augustus Pablo)
15. Addis Ababa (Delroy Wilson)
16. Be Still
17. Wild Fire
18. In The Rain (vocal)
19. Don't Think About Me (Horace Andy)
20. Still Water