07/30 - King Jammy's - Reggae Anthology Roots, Reality and Sleng Teng - 2CD+DVD - 17th North Parade / VP Records

Last July 24, VP Records' vintage imprint 17 North Parade have released a brand new 2CD/DVD reggae anthology from King Jammy, one of Jamaica's most influential producers of all time.

Entitled Roots, Reality And Sleng Teng, the comprehensive collection chronicles Lloyd "King Jammy" James' productions throughout the various styles and eras of reggae. From his live analogue recordings to the birth of the digital reggae to modern day reggae/dancehall, Jammy has played a pivotal role in every step along the way.

This timeless 2-disc set shows his range and diversity as a producer over almost a 40-year span. The double-disc deluxe package features extensive liner notes written by reggae historian John Masouri as well as a bonus DVD documentary King At The Controls (originally released in 2006). King At The Controls is produced by Olivier Chastan and Johnny Wonder and set in King Jammy's own Waterhouse community of Kingston, JA. The bonus DVD disc gives a glimpse of where it all started and the man behind the boards - paying respect to Jammy's legacy and his commitment to reggae music.

Jammy's indelible stamp on the genre is a tasty and importance slice of Jamaican musical history. The 2CD/DVD anthology Roots, Reality And Sleng Teng offer a solid sense of the icon's innovative sound and production during multiple eras and showcases the young, unique talents who Jammy nurtured.

Key tracks like the instrumental from 1976 "Zambia" given to Jammy's by another great - Vivian "Yabby You" Jackson, "The Lord Is My Shepherd" from the GREAT Dennis Brown, the serious conscious message from Alton Ellis sister - Hortense Ellis on "Jah Created The World", are some of the timeless songs that makes this set A must have !


Disc 1
01. Black Uhuru, Scorcher & Nicodemus - Bad Girl

02. Black Uhuru & Prince Hammer - African Love/Yogi Bear

03. John Steele - Selassie On His White Horse

04. Errol Scorcher - Engineer Affair

05. Jammy & Tubby - Zambia

06. The Fantells - Where You Gonna Run

07. Hortense Ellis - Jah Created The World

08. Junior Delgado - Love Tickles Like Magic

09. Dennis Brown - The Lord Is My Shepherd

10. Mighty Rudo - Skank At The Party

11. Johnny Osbourne - Water Pumping

12. Junior Reid - Boom Shack-A-Lack

13. Echo Minott - Sweet Dreams Are Made Of This

14. Half Pint - Money Man Skank

15. Cocoa Tea - Children Of The Ghetto

16. Little John - Clarks Booty

17. Wayne Smith - Under Me Sleng Teng

18. Tonto Irie - It A Ring

19. Trouble Again - King Kong

20. Sweet Reggae Music - Nitty Gritty

Disc 2

01. Lt.Stitchie - Wear Yuh Size

02. Chaka Demus - Original Kuff

03. Eccleton Janett - Rock Them One By One

04. Josey Wales - Nah Lef Ya

05. Chuck Turner - Round Around Girl

06. Frankie Paul - I Know The Score

07. Leroy Gibbons - This Magic Moment

08. Admiral Bailey - Punanny

09. Red Dragon - Duck Dance

10. Shabba Ranks - Get Up Stand Up And Rock

11. Alton Ellis - Tumbling Down

12. John Holt - If I Were A Carpenter

13. Admiral Tibet - Running From Reality

14. Cocoa Tea, Home-T & Shabba Ranks - Who She Love

15. Sanchez - Here I Am

16. Pinchers - Bandelero

17. Bounty Killer - Roots, Reality And Culture

18. Garnett Silk - Lord Watch Over Our Shoulders

19. Bushman - Fir Bun A Weak Heart

20. Sizzla - One Love

Disc 3 (DVD)

King Jammy - King At The Controls